Slow speed on WiFi

Is the a fault in my area TS25 as the wifi speeds on my laptop are ridiculously slow. Ever since we have been with Yayzi my Upload speed is around 3 times faster than my Download speed, this morning I ran 3 Google speed tests and the results were dismal.
I’m no expert but surely there must something wrong, why does my Download speed reduce the longer I’m connected.
Please help, Thanks

removed images due to IP address being visible*

Hey!

Firstly, apologies you’re having WiFi speed issues. We can certainly see if there are any issues. Are you able to run a Speedtest via a wired connection at all?

Also just to say we removed the images as your IP address was visible.

Thanks,
Yayzi Support Team

Thanks for the reply, I’ll check if I can do a wired speed test, do I connect the cable to the router or the box on the wall.

Thanks

Connect directly to the router not the ONT.

Hi Peter

Here is the result

What service are you paying for…?

Also I’m in TS25 if you need any help…

I’m on the 1GB offer, my son has “changed the channel” and my WiFi speed is a lot better, getting 108mb download now :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hi Peter

I thought the minium speed is around 600mb, is this correct?

Thanks

The minimum speed guarantee by Yayzi is 750mbps, but testing can vary a lot based on a number of factors and I would not trust one test to be particularly accurate.

Factors that can affect speeds:

• Wired vs. WiFi (for any kind of decent speed test you should always be using a wired connection)
  • Time of day - if a lot of people are using the speed test server you choose or the network that speed test server lives on is congested then speeds can seem lower than reality
  • Test device - the device or application you are testing on may not be able to handle the higher speeds. This can be particularly true for in-browser speed tests where the browser is not performing optimally