Still Ok to use own Router with Yayzi?

I was just wanting to confirm is it still ok to use your own Router with Yayzi.

I ask this as last week out of the blue overnight my PFsense router I had been using for 8 months suddenly ceased working with 100% packet loss. Packets were being sent. But not returned. Which one of the main possibilities of this was the ISP blocking them.

I then switched to IPfire, set it all up correctly. And it was being blocked. I get IPfire gurus to confirm and they said it was all setup correctly, correctly applied Vlan Tagging and etc and should be working. They said they thought the ISP must be blocking it their side.

So I then installed DDWRT on an intel Nuc. Put in the correct VlanTagging, Cloned the MAC address of my HX220 and everything was working after doing this. For around 15mins and then out of the blue I found my router was blocked and getting 100% packet loss again. On putting my HX220 back in with settings that worked perfectly an hour earlier. I found my HX220 was blocked too and not receiving any IP address and I needed to turn off my ONT multiple times and the HX220 just to get it to work again.

It just seems from all of this that Yayzi maybe no longer want people to use their own routers. And I don’t want to end up getting my ONT/Router blocked from the network by trying if this repeatedly if this is now something that is now blocked system side from Yayzi.

Can I confirm it is still ok to use my own router with you?

Sounds like you’ve got other problems, but using your own router isn’t one of them. I haven’t even taken my Yayzi provided EX820v out of it’s box (other than to confirm it was actually in there) - been using my own router since day 1. Just make sure it’s on VLAN 911 and set to dynamic IP and that’s all that should be needed. Anything else, I think you need to get the community here to help diagnose as it’s not really Yayzi’s place to be dealing with this if you’re not using their supplied router.

1 Like